TFI - David Creighton

TFI - David Creighton

 13 Jul 2018

What is your name?
David Creighton
 
What do you do for a living in 10 words?
I help REC members in Scotland to transform people’s lives.
 
Where do you currently reside?
In a quiet suburb on the Southside of Glasgow
 
 
  1. Tell us what a typical day at work looks like?
As I work remotely, my day always starts with me negotiating with technology and various layers of security with RSA token codes and passwords to get logged into the REC system. It’s usually pretty straightforward but sometimes not so much and results in some hair loss! Once that’s been achieved successfully, my day is made up of engaging with REC members and ensuring that they are getting as much benefit as possible form their membership. There’s no real “typical” day but the activities range from visits, calls and emails promoting the different membership benefits and events, promoting the specialist recruitment qualifications and training we offer and responding to members requests for help to find the specific resources they need which could be anything from a password reset to an answer from the legal helpline team.
 
  1. What do you enjoy most about your current role?
I really love the variety of what my role covers. There are so many different business models and business sizes here in my territory and that usually means that the most valuable membership benefits for each business can be a different one and I love learning what that is and then being able to add value by sharing everything that’s relevant to that business.
 
  1. What memories do you have of your first ever job?
My first ever part time job while I was at school was at a local butchers shop. My duties were simple. I opened 4 stone bags of potatoes and using a set of ancient brass scales, repackaged them into 5lb, 7lb and 14lb bags to stock the shop’s shelves. I also went out on the van twice a week selling the potatoes door to door around the local housing estates. I remember saving up for weeks and weeks to buy my first pair of Levis which cost £12!
 
My first ever full time job after college was as an art room technician in a design studio called Serif Design in the basement of a beautiful old Georgian building in Dublin. I loved it and I remember I cycled about 7 miles each way to and from work every day which I don’t think I could manage now!
 
  1. What did you want to do when you were a kid?
My dad was a carpenter so that was what I wanted to do but he discouraged me from getting a trade as he said it was a tough way to earn a living.
 
  1. What would you want to tell your 20-year-old self, knowing what you know now?
Apart from last week’s lottery numbers? When you get your first car and stop cycling everywhere, maybe cut down a bit on what you eat as you don’t need the calories anymore! You really don’t!
 
  1. Have there been any people in your career that have influenced or inspired you?
Yes, many people have both influenced and inspired me. My first MD at a specialist screen printing company called Industrial Print was a larger than life man called Gerry Casey. He had an energy and enthusiasm that was infectious and made everyone in the company feel like they were an integral part of the future success of the business and that it couldn’t succeed without them. In my more recent career, I have been inspired by the way the recently resigned CEO of the REC, Kevin Green, has spoken with genuine passion about how important and valuable the work of the people in the UK recruitment industry is.
 
  1. If you could invite anyone (dead or alive) for dinner who would you invite?
It’s a tough question. I can’t decide between all the fabulous people that I think would make amazing dinner guests like Stacey and Matt from Red, Elvis Presley, George Harrison, Lennon & McCartney, Prince or Michael Jackson, maybe historical figures like Jesus or Michelangelo or Ghandi, or brilliant actors like Al Pacino or artists like Dali and DaVinci or authors like Christopher Brookmyre and Jane Austen, even Mark Zuckerberg or Bill Gates or Stephen Hawkins so unless I can pick a huge group and have a big party, I’ll just invite my wife Suzanne.
 
  1. Do you have a favourite holiday destination?
I don’t. I like going to new places so I wonder if that means I just haven’t found my perfect place yet? I’ve been to lots of places in the UK and Ireland as well as a lot of the usual European holiday destinations like Spain, Greece, Turkey, Croatia and France and I’ve been to a few of the main North American holiday destinations too and loved them all but never really wanted desperately to go back. As long as I was able to get a decent cuppa, I was happy!
 
  1. Tell us something about yourself that not many people would know?
I hinted at it on the last question but unlike most of my fellow countrymen and women, I have never had an alcoholic drink and I would prefer a cup of tea over any other option 99% of the time.
 
 

Comments

Currently there are no comments. Be the first to post one!

Post Comment

*
*
*